Tuesday 2 February 2021

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) has announced the Para Badminton Tournament Calendar for 2021.
The Spanish Para Badminton International to be staged in May 2021 will serve as the last qualification tournament for the Tokyo Paralympic Games.

Week Dates Tournament City
13 29 Mar–4 Apr 3rd Fazza–Dubai Para Badminton International Dubai
19 10–16 May Spanish Para Badminton International Cartagena
25 21-27 Jun Irish Para Badminton International Dublin
35 1-5 Sept Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games Tokyo
TBC TBC Peru Para Badminton International Lima
43 25–31 Oct BWF Para Badminton World Championships Tokyo
46 15-21 Nov Uganda Para Badminton International Kampala
49 5-9 Dec Asian Youth Para Games Manama


Following an extensive bid process for the 2021 and 2023 editions of the BWF Para Badminton World Championships, the BWF is pleased to announce that Japan will host the 2021 edition and Thailand the 2023 edition of the Championships.

Full article

The 2020 Uganda Para-badminton International Championships will take place from 27th of April to 3rd of May 2020 in the Lugogo Indoor Stadium, Kampala.

All important information will be shared on this site.


The 2020 African Para-badminton Championships will take place from 20th to 26th of April 2020 in the Lugogo Indoor Stadium, Kampala.

All important information will be shared on this site.


For the first time the Badminton World Federation organised the World Championships for players with and without impairments at the same time at the same venue: the TOTAL BWF WORLD (PARA-)BADMINTON CHAMPIONSHIPS in Basel/Switzerland.

Though even more Ugandan players had qualified, only five could travel to Basel due to financial constraints.

left to right: Paddy Kasirye (SL 3), Rose Nansereko (SL 3), Khadijja Khamuka (SL 4), Elizabeth Mwesigwa (SL 3) and Ritah Asiimwe (SU 5) with Team Manager Herbert Ott (with cap)


Winners and Runner-up of the 2nd Ugandan National Championships:

Men's Singles SL 3  
Winner Paddy Kizza Kasirye
Runner-Up Bashir Mutyaba
Men's Singles SL 4  
Winner Charles Kalega Kizza
Runner-Up Hassan Mubiru
Women's Singles SL 3  
Winner Elizabeth Mwesigwa
Runner-Up Rose Nansereko
Women's Singles (all standing classes)  
Winner Khadijja Khamuka
Runner-Up Elizabeth Mwesigwa
Men's Doubles SL 3 - SL 4  
Winner Paddy Kizza Kasirye & Charles Kalega Kizza
Runner-Up Hassan Mubiru & Bashir Mutyaba
Women's Doubles SL 3 - SU 5  
Winner Khadijja Khamuka & Elizabeth Mwesigwa
Runner-Up Ritah Asiimwe & Rose Nansereko
Mixed Doubles SL 3 - SU 5  
Winner Hassan Mubiru & Elizabeth Mwesigwa
Runner-Up Charles Kalega Kizza & Rose Nansereko

All results here

In preparation for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games BWF is developing a new Para Fan Site. Aiming to raise awareness of the sport and its players, both BWF and the IPC are hoping to gain information on the Para-athletes themselves through sending out a player information form.

The form (linked here) provides you with all the data fields BWF (and the IPC) are looking to collect. As well as this, the image below is an example of how BWF is aiming for the Para athletes information to be presented on the new Para Fan Site.

© Serunkuma Enterprises